Jeff Grant

Appointed Chair July 2017
Appointed Director June 2014

Jeff Grant farms sheep, beef and deer properties at Balfour and Otama Valley in Southland.

He was elected as a Member of Parliament in 1987 and served two terms including the role of Senior Whip in the National Government from 1990 until 1993 when he retired.

Since 1994 Jeff has been predominately involved as a Director or Trustee for more than 20 organisations and companies. He is currently the Chairman of Milford Sound Development Authority, Mt Linton Station, Southland Shared Services & CEO’ Group and OSPRI New Zealand. He is a director of SBS Bank and Finance Now Ltd and is a trustee of Pfx Trust (Massey and Lincoln University joint venture).

Past directorships have included Invest South, Landcorp, Wrightson, New Zealand Meat Board, Meat and Wool NZ, Agriculture ITO, Animal Health Board, Catapult Genetics, Ovita ,Tulip International and Business Parliamentary Trust.

He has also been Chairman of ten organisations including Meat and Wool NZ 2003-2007 and New Zealand Meat Board 2000-2007, Meat Research and Development Council, AGMARDT, Invest South and Wool Partners Co-op.

Andrew Macfarlane

Appointed July 2011

Andrew Macfarlane (B.AgSci) is a farm management consultant, farmer and property investor. He is a life member and past president of the New Zealand Institute of Primary Industry Management. He is also a director of ANZCO, a member of the Lincoln University Council and Chairman of Deer Industry New Zealand and a director of the Ngai Tahu Farming.

Andrew has a particular interest in building depth in both the numbers and quality of young professionals entering the rural sector and expertise in developing environmentally sound farm management systems, particularly in relation to irrigation schemes and on-farm land use options.

His farming interests are in the dairy, meat and arable sectors.


Paul Reynolds

Appointed July 2015

Paul Reynolds served as Chief Executive of the Ministry for the Environment from 2008 until 2015.   Prior to that he worked at the Ministry of Research, Science and Technology (1998-2002) as Chief Policy Adviser and then, from 2002-2008 was Deputy Director General (Policy) at the Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry.

Prior to his career in the Wellington-based Public Service, Paul had a scientific research career, first at the University of Missouri, USA (1981-1984) then, following a year at Waikato University, with the Department of Scientific and Industrial Research (1985-1992) and after that with the Crown Research Institute, HortResearch (1992-1998). He holds a PhD in Biochemistry from the University of Otago.

Paul is also Deputy Chair of Landcare Research, a Trustee of the Eastland Community Trust and as Interim Chair of the Our Land and Water” Science Challenge.

Tania Simpson

Appointed July 2011

Tania Simpson has been appointed to the Board of Global Women.

Tania is a Māori development consultant with a broad range of governance experience on boards including Mighty River Power, Reserve Bank of New Zealand, Landcare Research, Maniapoto FM and the Board of Global Women.

She is Chief Executive of Kōwhai Consulting and a member of the Waitangi Tribunal and the King’s Council. Tania has tribal affiliations to Tainui, Ngā Puhi and Ngāi Tahu and lives near Hamilton.


Dr Peter Stone

Appointed August 2013
Dr Peter Stone is a senior manager at Australia’s CSIRO, where he is a Research Director in the Land & Water Flagship.

Peter has experience in farm management, food industry consulting, grain marketing and agricultural research. He is Brisbane-based but lived in New Zealand for several years, during which time he worked as a scientist at Crop & Food Research.


Kim Wallace

Appointed July 2017

Kim Wallace is a Christchurch-based professional director and consultant whose career spans roles in governance, finance and supply chain management.

Kim has been a Director of Quotable Value Limited since 2012 and is currently Chair of the Finance and Audit committee. Kim was appointed to the boards of Port Nelson and AgResearch in 2017.

Kim is a former CFO and executive director in the global dairy industry having worked for 24 years in various locations including New Zealand, the USA, Germany and Australia.


Colin Armer

Appointed July 2017

Colin Armer is a successful agriculture professional who has significant governance experience.

He is the founding shareholder/director of both Dairy Holdings Ltd & Armer Group. He served on the Fonterra Board from 2006 to 2012.

Jackie Lloyd

Appointed July 2017

Jackie Lloyd is a professional director based in Wellington who is currently the Deputy Chair of NZ Post, Chair of the Wellington Museums Trust, and a Council Member of WelTec and Whitireia Institutes of Technology.

Prior to her governance career, Ms Lloyd held senior executive Human Resources roles including Director Global Human Resources for NZ Milk Products.